CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

At a meeting of the **GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE** held at Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 19 May 2016.

PRESENT

Cllr Mrs J G Lawrence (Chairman) Cllr G Perham (Vice-Chairman)

Cllrs	Mrs C F Chapn P Hollick J G Jamieson K C Matthews	nan ME	BE Cllrs	N Warren R D Wenha A Zerny	im
Apologies for Absence:		Cllrs	L Birt Mrs A L Dodwell M R Jones		
Substitutes:		Cllrs	D Lawrence for M Jones N Young for L Birt		
Members i	n Attendance:	Clirs	R D Berry M C Blair D Bowater J Chatterley Mrs S Clark K M Collins N B Costin I Dalgarno S Dixon P Downing P A Duckett K Ferguson F Firth Mrs J Freeman E Ghent C C Gomm Mrs S A Goodch Ms A M W Graha Mrs D B Gurney Mrs C Hegley K Janes R W Johnstone J Kane Ms C Maudlin D McVicar R Morris T Nicols A Ryan	-	B Saunders J A G Saunders D Shelvey I Shingler P Smith B J Spurr R C Stay Mrs T Stock T Swain G Tubb M A G Versallion B Walker B Wells T Woodward

GPC - 19.05.16 Page 2

Officers in Attendance:	Mr Q Baker Mrs D Broadbent- Clarke Mr R Carr Mr M Coiffait Mrs S Harrison Mrs S Hobbs Mr J Longhurst	 	Monitoring Officer Director of Improvement and Corporate Services Chief Executive Director of Community Services Director of Children's Services Committee Services Officer Director of Regeneration and
	Mrs J Ogley Ms M Peaston Mrs M Scott Mr C Warboys	_	Business Director of Social Care, Health and Housing Committee Services Manager Director of Public Health Chief Finance Officer

GPC/16/1. Chairman's Announcements and Communications

The Chairman had no announcements or communications.

GPC/16/2. Membership of the Appointments Panel

The Committee received nominations from the Group Leaders in relation to the appointment of Members to the Appointments Panel. It was noted that Councillor Andrew Turner was no longer a Member of the Executive and would be removed from the membership.

RESOLVED

- 1. that Members be appointed to the Appointments Panel, as attached at Appendix A to the minutes; and
- to note that the Appointments Sub-Committee will be appointed by the Monitoring Officer and will be composed of 3-5 Members (normally 2-4 Conservatives and 1 Independent, including at least 1 Executive Member) plus 3 substitutes (normally 2 Conservatives and 1 Independent).

(Note: The meeting commenced at 7.30 p.m. and concluded at 7.34 p.m.)

Chairman

Appendix A

General Purposes Committee Nominations 2016/17

Appointments Panel	Cllr Peter Hollick (C) Cllr Jane Lawrence (C)
(5 Members + 3 substitutes, plus all	Cllr Ken Matthews (C)
the Executive Members with specific	Cllr Gordon Perham (C)
portfolios)	Cllr Adam Zerny (I)
4 (2) Conservatives 1 (1) Independent	plus Executive Members as below: Cllr Steven Dixon (C) Cllr Carole Hegley (C) Cllr James Jamieson (C) Cllr Maurice Jones (C) Cllr Brian Spurr (C) Cllr Richard Wenham (C) Cllr Nigel Young (C)
	Substitutes
	Cllr Amanda Dodwell (C)
	Cllr Alison Graham (I)
	Cllr Nigel Warren (C)
Appointments Sub-Committee	Appointed by the Monitoring Officer as needed from the membership of the Appointments Panel.
	To comprise 3-5 members (2-4 Conservative and 1 Independent, including at least 1 Executive Member)

This page is intentionally left blank